Where To Next, Travel Trivia

making a map book

Where to next” is a question that I’ve been asked over and over lately. My friends who enjoy reading my blog know that my husband and I usually travel to Europe in the fall. This year is no different yet we have planned something new. I thought it might be fun for everyone who likes following along on our adventures to give a guess as to what we are doing for this year’s trip.

I have decided to share some clues with you and see if you can figure out what our travel adventures will be. Only a very few of you have any idea of what our plans are and if you happen to be one of them, I ask you to not give the answer away until I start writing about our travels…thank you.

Clues, see if you can guess?

  1. One if by land, two if by sea, (this clue could provide more than one answer).
  2. We fly from Orlando and return to Miami, a passport will be necessary.
  3. We will be speaking English, other languages would be helpful.
  4. Four countries but no maps necessary…is that possible?
  5. A well known “explorer” may be the biggest clue of all.
  6.  While not a specific place , the people there are from 49 different countries.
  7. Our shortest trip in years and yet one of the busiest.
  8. While some might think of this journey as being relaxing it will be far from it.
  9. Elegant yet casual, my kind of traveling.
  10. At the end of our journey, a lot of small plates will have been consumed.

I’d love to hear from you as to what you think we are doing this year. I’ll be giving you the answer in a few short days as to this year’s European adventure.

Posted by

I travel the back roads of the world, sharing great food and interesting places and enjoyable pastimes.

47 thoughts on “Where To Next, Travel Trivia

  1. *laughter* You told us way back !! Methinks some of us have remembered !! Have fun! Have been, but don’t know well . . .so am very much looking forwards to the posts. Happy landings !!!

    1. Still having a weekend smile on my face: have three countries fixed:- now, to go south by water or north? Hmm – actually everyone, but everyone, should get it from clue number ten . . .

    2. Did not think along these lines at first, but Barcelona to Miami on ‘Symphony of the Seas’ departing B end of October? The good old US being the fourth country: would take care of most of the clues including some that simply did not fit 🙂 ??? Fourteen days . . .

  2. I’m smiling as I read everyone’s guesses. A few are thinking in the right direction but in Travel Trivia you have to be more specific. You might want to read the clues again. 😀

  3. Fun quiz! I’m terrible at trivia, and even though you’ve provided excellent cruise, I’m clueless. I’m with the cruise votes. Four countries? Maybe from Southampton to Barcelona, with stops in France and Portugal? A trip of about two weeks? But really, I have no idea.

  4. Small plates make me think of tapas obviously…. People from many countries make me think of my own (20% of the Swiss population being foreign, not to mention the people with foreign origins… and 40% at least of my city dwellers aren’t Swiss!) but maybe UK??? In short, I have no clue! I’m looking forward to reading about your adventures and sincerely hope to meet you one day during one of your trips in Europe… If you ever come near the Western Switzerland (nearby France too!), please let me know!
    I wish I could write about my yearly Japan travels as well as you do and take such fantastic photographs… Have fun!

  5. Love your wee quiz 🙂 I usually post a pic on FB and ask “Where am I”? It generates a lot of interest and guesses. Hmmmm, I’m thinking Switzerland for your journey? Well wherever and whatever, it will be fun to read your post. I love travel posts, I find it hard to keep up with mine, as most of my posts are about food 🙂 Bon Voyage!

  6. Can’t wait to find out Karen. 😁 #10 makes me think Spain. Four countries, so what might be the others? Amsterdam to Barcelona? Returning to Miami so I’m thinking a trans-Atlantic cruise. Speaking English…could make a stop at Gibraltar?

  7. Hi Karen, my first thought was Spain too, but I agree that it sounds like a cruise might be coming up in your vacay too! Can’t wait to see where you all are as I travel vicariously through you two!! 🙂 Where ever you are headed, have so much fun!!

  8. I think it’s been guessed, perhaps, with “cruise,” but to be more specific, I think a Danube river cruise. It would cover most of your clues, I think. That’s luxury travel in my mind.

  9. Small plates make me think Spain. 49 countries make me think France, Germany or Turkey. An explorer makes me think Italy. Hmm, that would be quite an itinerary for a short trip so it sounds like a cruise is in the offing.

  10. A river cruise would be my guess as other have noted. Matters not, as any adventure you chronicle is worthy of reading. Safe journey and I’m looking forward to our trip.

  11. Germany and Austria are on my bucket list. Not sure where you are going but I bet it will be amazing.

  12. Your tireless quest to explore new lands and find fresh adventures is absolutely inspiring! I couldn’t begin to guess what’s next on your agenda… but I can’t wait to find out. Sounds like another grand experience in the making.

  13. I think I know, but I’m not saying! I’ll just have to check back and see. And it was funny when you stopped by my site today I clicked over immediately, and the first thought in my head was I have t see what Karen’s up to! I love seeing your posts and every time I stop by i can’t get the thought of that Black Forest Cake out of my mind! I think I’m going to have to make one!

  14. I’m thinking there is definitely a cruise involved. You mentioned flying out of Orlando, but returning to Miami…not “flying” back to Miami. So sailing back into Miami? I can’t wait to follow along…I love Europe!

  15. The U.K. Has 4 countries (England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland) and people from pretty much every nation however plates aren’t small unless you compare them to American 😂😂😂 Small plates suggests Tapas in Spain but English isn’t the national language although lots of people speak it. You’ll also need maps still. My guess would be flying to England, depart from Southampton on a cruise liner or via St Pancrass for the EuroStar train. Then going through France, Spain and Portugal.

  16. Sounds like a cruise with stops in southern France, Spain, Morocco and Portugal? The ship’s crew all speak English. that’s my guess. Wherever it is, it sounds fun!

  17. I am sorry I missed these travel posts, looks like you will be cruising, but I may have seen a ship scrolling down. Whatever you do, I’m sure it’s first class all the way!

Leave a comment