Peach, Prosciutto And Burrata Pizza

peach prosciutto and buratta pizza

Nothing beats sweet, juicy peaches when they are in season. To celebrate their arrival, make this quick and easy pizza layered with an irresistible combination of sweet ripe peaches, savory prosciutto, creamy Italian burrata cheese, herbed ricotta and finished with aromatic basil. It truly tastes like summer on a plate.

I’ll admit that my peach, prosciutto and burrata pizza, with its layers of sweet, salty and creamy flavors, is an unexpected combination of toppings but trust me it is flavorful and delicious. My Italian husband was a skeptic and I won him over and you will be too. The juicy sweetness of ripe peaches marries perfectly with the flavor of thinly sliced, salt cured Italian ham. Add to that, the delicate flavor of Italian burrata cheese, which is a combination of fresh mozzarella and cream, and you have a delicious mix of flavors and textures.

You can certainly make your own pizza dough but for a quick and easy meal, I suggest that you use store bought dough for this summertime meal. If it is a nice warm summer evening and you enjoy grilling pizza, this dish can also be prepare that way. No matter how you decide to cook it, I believe this fresh, summery, flavorful and delicious pizza will be a winner whether you are serving it tor a weeknight meal or entertaining guests.

peach prosciutto and buratta pizza
Peach, Prosciutto And Buratta Pizza

Peach, Prosciutto And Burrata Pizza

Recipe serves 2 – 4, adjust accordingly

Preheat the oven to 400°F.

  • 1 ball of your favorite pizza dough
  • 3 Tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/4 – 1/2 c. ricotta, depending on size of pizza
  • 1 Tbsp. chopped fresh basil
  • garlic and onion powder to taste
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • pinch of cayenne pepper
  • 2 peaches, cut into wedges
  • salt to taste
  • 4 oz. ball of burrata cheese, torn into bite size chunks
  • 6 thin slices of prosciutto, torn into bite size pieces
  • 4 – 5 large basil leaves, sliced thin for garnish

Start by rolling out or stretching your pizza dough into a round or rectangular shape, keeping it fairly thin for a crispy crust. Line a pizza or sheet pan with parchment paper and sprinkle lightly with fine cornmeal. Transfer your pizza dough to the pan and drizzle 1 Tbsp. olive oil all over it.

Combine fresh ricotta, 1 Tbsp. olive oil, and chopped basil in a small bowl and season with garlic and onion powder, salt, pepper and a pinch of cayenne pepper then mix until a smooth consistency. Dollop the ricotta mixture over the top of the dough, then gently spread leaving about an inch border.

Wash and slice the peaches about a 1/4 inch thick and place in a bowl. Drizzle with 1 Tbsp. olive oil, season lightly with salt and mix until peaches are coated with oil. Spread the peaches over the ricotta.

Transfer the pizza to a preheated oven and bake at 400°F for about 16 – 20 minutes, or until the crust turns golden brown. Once the pizza is out of the oven, spread the torn pieces of creamy burrata cheese over the pizza, followed by pieces of prosciutto. At the last minute, sprinkle with fresh basil thinly sliced or torn for an aromatic garnish. Slice the pizza and serve.

peach prosciutto and buratta pizza
Peach, Prosciutto And Buratta Pizza

****

The perfect accompaniment to the peach, prosciutto and burrata pizza is an arugula salad tossed with olive oil, lemon juice, salt and pepper. The slightly bitter lemony greens contrast nicely with the creamy cheese, sweet peaches and salty flavors of the prosciutto. Enjoy

Posted by

I travel the back roads of the world, sharing great food and interesting places and enjoyable pastimes.

25 thoughts on “Peach, Prosciutto And Burrata Pizza

  1. That’s really interesting – the Catalans make a flat bread called Coca, which is a bit pizza like. Coca can be sweet or savoury and sometimes both. The topping can be baked with the dough or it can be added once the base is cooked.

  2. I loved peaches and just made a panzanella salad with them, so why not putting them on a pizza. I am going to try it. Thank you Karen.

  3. You had my attention at Peaches and Burrata! The combination of peaches, prosciutto and burrata sound so good together. I will definitely be making this!

  4. This could be the ultimate summer pizza, this is an awesome recipe to prepare on the grill!! I’ve never had burrata before, Karen. I can’t wait to fix this problem with your wonderful recipe!

  5. It looks beautiful, Karen, but I’m not a fan of sweet toppings on pizza (especially ham and pineapple!) Burrata is generally too rich for me so I’ll have to leave this one for ‘those who can’. Have a good week, hon!

  6. Hi Karen,
    This reads deliciously. I love fruit on pizza, and yes, I will eat pineapple on a pizza although I’m unlikely to add it to one I make.

  7. I’m drooling just thinking about this! I’ve made burrata with fresh yuba before and it would be absolutely heavenly here. It’s quite a process, but worth it for this. I must make it while peaches are in season.

  8. Peaches go so well with prosciutto and milky cheese that no wonder this pizza is such a winner. It has everything that I love — and a whole lot more.

  9. A very delicious combination, Karen! I was wondering – before I got down to the recipe part – if you’d added the burrata before baking. Glad to see you added it afterwards 😄
    I once thought adding burrata to a hot tomato (marinara) sauce was a good idea, but the liquid part of the wonderful burrata made it a mess. Lesson learned…

Leave a comment