Roasted Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

During the summer, my husband and I do lots of entertaining at the lake. When having friends for dinner, we like to serve something that is easy to prepare and that everyone will enjoy. One of our favorite things to cook and eat is a roasted Mediterranean chicken with lemons. There is not much prep work involved and leaves you plenty of time to make your side dishes.

Roasted Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

We like to start the meal off with a meze or mezze platter. This is a selection of small dishes such as rice-stuffed grape leaves or vegetables, olives, feta or similar cheese drizzled with olive oil, baba ganoush or an eggplant salad, tzatziki, as well as other items. I posted a recipe for baba ganoush when I cooked lamb chops. Warm pita is nice to serve along side.

Mezza Platter

Roasted Mediterranean Chicken with Lemons

  • One 2 to 3 lb. chicken, cut into serving pieces, rinsed and patted dry
  • 2 lemons, sliced
  • 3 Tbs. fresh squeezed lemon juice
  • 1/2 c. dry white wine
  • 3 to 4 garlic cloves, sliced and heated in 2 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 Tbs. chopped  fresh thyme
  • 1 Tbs. chopped  fresh rosemary
  • 1 Tbs. chopped fresh oregano
  • 1 Tbs. chopped  fresh parsley
  • 1 tsp. Cavender’s Greek seasoning
  • 1/2 tsp. garlic powder
  • 1/2 tsp. onion powder
  • 1/2 tsp. or more salt
  • 1/2 tsp. black pepper

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Place chicken in roasting pan, add Greek seasoning, garlic powder, onion powder, salt and pepper. Place in the oven and roast for 10 minutes. Take chicken out, reduce the oven to 350 degrees. Sprinkle the chicken with the sliced garlic and drizzle with olive oil. Top chicken with lemon slices and add the thyme, rosemary and oregano. Add the wine and lemon juice to the pan. Return chicken to the oven and roast for an additional 30 to 40 minutes until the chicken reaches a temperature of 165 degrees and its juices run clear when pierced. Let rest, spoon some of the pan juices over, garnish with parsley and serve.

****

I think a wonderful side dish is couscous or orzo.

Couscous with Dried Plums, Raisins and Pistachios

Couscous with Dried Fruit, Raisins and Pistachios

  • 1 10 oz. box of couscous
  • 2 1/4 cups of water*
  • 3 Tbs. olive oil
  • 1 tsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. cumin
  • 1/2 tsp. ground ginger
  • 1 tsp. salt
  • 1/2 ground pepper
  • 8 dried plums (prunes)**
  • 1/2 c. raisins
  • 1/2 shelled pistachios, toasted lightly and chopped
  • 2 Tbs. chopped fresh mint

Bring water, oil, cinnamon, cumin, ginger, salt and pepper to a boil. Stir in the couscous, dried plums and raisins. Remove from the heat, cover and let stand for at least 5 minutes. Fluff couscous and cool. After cooled, fluff again to remove any lumps. When ready to serve, stir in the pistachios and mint. *The water can be replaced with vegetable or chicken broth if desired. **I have also made this with dried apricots or a mixture of prunes and apricots.

****

We make a large platter of roasted or grilled vegetables to complete the meal. Any left over vegetables are good served at room temperature the next day or you could add them to another dish like a vegetable pie that I made later.

Grilled Vegetables

There are many recipes for roasting a chicken. Feel free to just add my additional herbs, spices and lemons to your favorite recipe. Everyone who has had this dinner asks how to make it. I hope you will enjoy the meal.

Posted by

I travel the back roads of the world, sharing great food and interesting places and enjoyable pastimes.

29 thoughts on “Roasted Mediterranean Chicken Dinner

  1. Madness – what a brilliant menu. I particularly love the take on couscous, which we eat a lot being in France, where North African food is the most common of generic cuisines. The whole lifestyle view does it for me, and the moment they build a Metro from France to Maine, I’m there.

    1. Hi Roger, Thank you for the lovely compliment. We love our time in Maine but the summer slips by far too fast. If they built a Metro between the two of us, I would be there in a heartbeat taking photo classes and dining on wonderful food.

  2. Last week, I made a huge batch of roasted tomatoes, squash and eggplant, and when it was time to put the leftovers away, tossed some dry couscous in with the veggies and their juices. The couscous soaked up the juice, and it made an amazing cold salad for luch the next day…

    Love the chicken recipe – alway looking to expand the ‘chicken’ file!

    1. Couscous is so versatile. It can be used in a salad or mixed with meat or vegetables, or topped with a hot broth. Very similar to the many uses of rice. I think you will enjoy the chicken recipe…the roasted lemon really brightens the flavor.

  3. Lemons and chicken are one of the greatest pairings…like peanut butter and jelly or “Bogie and Bacall!”
    And of course since i am convinced I was Mediterranean in my last life I LOVE this menu!

  4. I would like to be a little closer to Portland and be invited to one of your dinners at the lake. This one has some of my favorite ingredients.

    1. Hi Lulu, My husband and I like entertaining our friends. They seem to enjoy having dinner at our house in New Hampshire but they really like coming up to the lake in Maine.

      1. Doesn’t everyone like coming to Maine! Our house is seldom without guests, many of whom have never been to this beautiful place.

  5. Karen, I’d love to be neighbors with you! Dining out by your lake and enjoying this meal of everything I love!! There is something so simply perfect about a whole roasted chicken. It’s one of my favorites too and I too add in lemons for that Mediterranean feel.

  6. Bah, I read the first sentence and knew that this post was going to make me jealous instantly.
    “During the summer, my husband and I do lots of entertaining at the lake.”
    Sounds like a wonderful thing and with food like that -…. oh yes please! Where’s my invite? 😀

    1. Let’s see…about a eight or nine hour flight and you could be here. Thanks for the link. I think you will like the baba ganoush recipe.

  7. The roasted chicken with the couscous sound divine! I’ve had the flavors of the Mediterranean on my mind a lot lately, too, and will try both of these…I love couscous.

  8. roasted chicken is my go to dish when we have guests and I don’t want to cook anything elaborate. I am gearing up to do a mezze platter for a dinner soon 🙂

  9. As a third generation Middle Eastern immigrant in Honduras, I do love mezza platters and your is gorgeous and looks tasty! I find your couscous recipe fascinating!

    1. Thank you for you nice compliment. I love to do mezza platters for company. The best I had was in Paris, believe it or not, at a Lebanese restaurant. The owner brought out so many tasty little bowls. This couscous recipe is different from most I have seen.

  10. Oh my – entertaining at the lake. I´m putting my name on the guest list! I agree with you, you have to find the balance between cooking something wonderful for your guests and leaving yourself enough time to enjoy their company. This looks perfect…

    1. It’s a shame that all my blogging friends are so far away or I really would be having a great party with all of you. You are exactly right…you don’t want to spend all the time in the kitchen when you can be visiting instead. I do make fancy meals in the wintertime but summer is a time to be out and about.

    1. Hi Colleen, Thank you so much for your kind words and the invitation to participate in the Seven Links challenge. I’m very grateful for you being a constant reader of my blog and your link. It is an honor when another blogger thinks enough of your blog to refer to it on their own sight.

  11. This sounds great! And your mezze platter—oh dear!–I’m drooling!!! Thanks for sharing—I can’t wait to try the chicken!

  12. This entire meals sounds amazing and I bet it is! Karen, we have one question. Can we eat at your house tonight?

Leave a comment