Chicken, Shiitake Mushroom and Bok Choy Soup

asian chicken, shiitake mushroom and Bok Choy soup

Chicken, Shiitake Mushroom and Bok Choy Soup is a healthy and exceptionally delicious Asian inspired soup. Made from roasted or rotisserie chicken and broth made from its bones, this immune boosting soup, flavored with ginger, garlic and sesame oil, is perfect for the cold months ahead, especially if you are not feeling well.

Homemade Chicken Stock, made from the leftover bones of a chicken roasted until golden brown and delicious, can transform a simple soup into something exceptional. Rich and gelatinous, you’ll think of the stock as liquid gold. Making chicken stock is easy and it’s healthier for you than the canned or boxed chicken broth you can buy because of all the iron, collagen, and vitamin rich marrow that comes from the bones. What is even more appealing, is that the stock is made from the carcass of a leftover chicken that you might have thought about throwing away…think of the stock as being almost free.

Every time I buy a rotisserie chicken, stock is made from the carcass. I keep quarts of it in my freezer and then use the chicken stock when making soups and sauces. A quart of the stock makes a wonderful base for this simple Chicken, Shiitake Mushroom and Bok Choy Soup. Not only is it flavorful, it is a healthy soup that has nutrients, antioxidants and anti inflammatory properties that could help the next time you are under the weather with a cold, cough or sore throat. Even if it doesn’t help improve your symptoms, what could be more comforting than a bowl of warm, homemade soup?

chicken shiitake mushroom and Bok Choy soup
Healthy Asian Chicken, Shiitake Mushroom And Bok Choy Soup

Chicken, Shiitake Mushroom and Bok Choy Soup

  • 1 Tbsp. peanut or vegetable oil
  • 8 oz. shiitake mushrooms, stems removed, caps sliced 1/4 inch thick
  • 1 Tbsp. grated fresh ginger
  • 1 large garlic clove, minced
  • 1 qt. chicken stock (from recipe below)
  • 1 tsp. tamari or soy sauce
  • 1 tsp. sesame oil
  • 1 – 2 tsp. chili oil, depending on taste (I suggest starting with a small about of oil then add to your liking as far as spiciness)
  • 1/4 tsp. white pepper
  • meat from 1/2 roasted or rotisserie chicken, pulled into bite size pieces (about 2 cups)
  • 1 – 2 c. bok choy, sliced
  • 2 green onions, sliced

Heat the peanut oil in a pot over medium heat then add the sliced mushrooms. Sear, allowing them to turn golden before stirring. When browned, add the ginger and garlic and cook 1 minute. Add the broth, stirring up any browned bits then add the tarmari, sesame oil, chili oil and white pepper then simmer 2 minutes. Add the chicken and bok choy and simmer until the chicken is warmed through and the greens are tender, about 2 to 3 minutes. Taste and adjust the seasonings, if necessary. Ladle the soup into bowls, sprinkle with green onions and serve.

Tips:

  • You will notice that I did not add salt to the soup as there is tamari or soy sauce in the recipe. You can adjust the saltiness of the soup once it has finished simmering, if necessary.
  • If using regular bok choy, separate the leaves from the stems. Chop the stems into 1 inch pieces and the green leaves into pieces about 2 inches in length.
  • If using baby bok choy, halve them lengthwise and cut into 2 inches pieces.
  • If you have saved the chicken carcass to make the stock but don’t have leftover chicken meat for the soup itself, you can poach a couple of chicken thighs or breasts in the stock before continuing with the recipe.
homemade roasted chicken stock
Homemade Roasted Chicken Stock Is Like Liquid Gold

Homemade Chicken Stock

  • roasted chicken carcass, broken into pieces, along with any meat or skin that clings to the bones
  • 1 carrot, cut into pieces
  • 1 celery stalk, cut into pieces
  • 1/2 onion
  • 1 -2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 – 2 bay leaves
  • 2 – 3 fresh sprigs of thyme and parsley
  • water to cover by about 2 inches, approximately 2 quarts

Put the carcass and any meat that clings to the bones into a large pot. Add the vegetables, garlic, bay leaves, thyme and parsley and cover the bones with water. Bring to a boil then reduce to a gentle simmer. Cover with a lid slightly askew and cook for 2 hours. For a more intense chicken flavor, simmer a little longer without the lid. Pour through a fine strainer into a large heatproof container and discard the solids. If you wish to remove some of the fat, let sit long enough for the fat to rise to the top then skim before refrigerating or freezing.  

****

The next time you have a roasted or rotisserie chicken, think about saving the carcass and turning it into stock for a pot of this delicious Asian soup. This chicken, shiitake mushroom and bok choy soup is light enough to serve during warmer months but also perfect for the cold months that lie ahead. You can make the soup heartier by adding noodles, tofu, water chestnuts, bamboo shoots or other vegetables of your choice. One thing I’m sure of, if you make and taste the stock, you will never want to throw away a roasted chicken carcass again.

Posted by

I travel the back roads of the world, sharing great food and interesting places and enjoyable pastimes.

89 thoughts on “Chicken, Shiitake Mushroom and Bok Choy Soup

  1. Your soup sounds wonderful, Karen! I love anything with ginger and garlic, the aroma alone is intoxicating. Bok choy is perfect for giving it texture while absorbing all the flavors of the soup. Great recipe!

    1. I’m happy to know that you like soups like this Jovina. The ingredients are easy for most people to buy and they do make for a delicious Asian soup.

  2. That looks delicious and a nice alternative to regular chicken soup. I stick all my bones in a pressure cooker (along with any tired looking vegetables) each week. That way I always have some stock to hand.

    1. Hi John, I know of your love of Asian food so I’m thrilled you like the recipe and made something similar with duck. I’m sure it was delicious.

  3. We love soups at this time of the year! And are always looking for new recipes. This is simple and good — can’t beat that combo. Plus it’s kinda pretty — winner! 🙂

  4. It all sounds lovely, Karen. I’ve only recently started using bok choy. Haven’t thought of adding it to soup. Just a query about the mushrooms. Haven’t used shiitake, but with the other mushrooms, I never did scarf the stems. Is it necessary here?

    1. Hi Mary, sorry to be getting back to you late with an answer about the stems of shiitake mushrooms. Unlike most other mushrooms where you can use the stems…shiitakes have a very tough stem. If you want, they can be used when making stock but then discarded otherwise, I don’t use them at all.

  5. I should make more of an effort to make my own stock as it is something I use several times a week. Your idea of keeping it the freezer may inspire me.

    1. Hi Linda, if you use stock all the time, then you should definitely make your own. It costs almost nothing, it is easy to make and the flavor is so much better than anything you can buy.

  6. The addition of the chili oil, although just a small amount, really jumped out at me. This sounds so flavorful, and definitely nourishing. Also, I love your header photo, Karen!

    1. Hi Debra, So nice to hear from you. 😊 I’m glad you like the Asian inspired chicken soup and yes the chili oil, even if only a drop or two, really makes for a flavorful soup. Thank you for your nice compliment about the new header photo.

  7. *smile* Have used all the ingredients naturally but perchance not in soup form . . . personally do not buy rotisserie chicken but always have homemade strong chicken stock in the freezer and preparing the meat is simple enough. . . . lovely flavours leaning towards Asia and baby bok choi is never away from my crisper . . .since we get a plethora of different kinds of Asian mushrooms at any supermarket, might even mix in a few others . . .

    1. Thank you for your wish and nice compliment Juliana. I’m happy to know that this is your kind of soup. I hope everything is well with you and your family.

  8. I am so loving Asian inspired soups of late and this will be a real treat. At the risk of sounding naive, when we make our own stock and the recipe calls for a quart of it, what do we do if we don’t garner that much liquid when making it?

    Thanks so much, Karen, for another excellent recipe. Love your new blog design! ❤️

    Jane

    1. Hi Jane, so sorry to be getting back to you so late regarding your question. The recipe for the stock calls for approximately 2 quarts of water to cover the bones. It will reduce down a lot but you should have around a quart. If not, just add water as the stock is very concentrated. I think you will enjoy having the stock for so many recipes. Thank you for your compliment not only about the soup but also the new design of my blog, it is much appreciated.

  9. Soup time of the year and we are making lots of Pumpkin and butternut soups at the moment. 67 kg of pumpkins and butternuts from the garden this year- phew. This sounds delicious though and will be a nice break in flavours. Thanks.
    Have a good week and stay safe, Diane

    1. Diane, you certainly had a bountiful crop from your garden this year that I know you will be enjoying for months. The Asian inspired soup would be a nice change, I hope you will enjoy it if you get a chance to pre[are it.

    1. I appreciate your very kind words Mimi about the Asian soup, it is much appreciated. I’m with you about sesame oil, a tiny bit adds to much deliciousness to so many dishes.

    1. Hi Jenna, Making stock really is easy, I always have it in my freezer as it adds so much flavor to many dishes. Thank you for your nice compliment.

  10. This sounds wonderful, Karen! I haven’t made an Asian style soup in a long while and now I want to run to Costco for a rotisserie chicken 🙂 BTW, I made your St. Louis style ribs a couple of weeks ago and they were delicious! I made a sweeter homemade BBQ sauce but they hardly needed any sauce they were so good.

    1. Hi Susan, first thank you so much for letting me know that you made the oven baked spare ribs and enjoyed them…I really appreciate it. If you get a chance to try the Asian style soup, I hope you will enjoy it as well.

  11. A lovely and warming soup that would work well for our cold Swedish nights we’re going into. We don’t often cook a whole chicken so using the carcass isn’t a great option. But, frozen chicken wings are the least expensive chicken cut you can buy here. So, I roast them up and use them to make stock. Thanks for the soup recipe, one can never have too many…

    1. Hi Ron, using roasted chicken wings for a homemade stock is perfect. I agree with you that you can never have too many soup recipes…especially living in a country like Sweden.

    1. Hi Bobbi, I always keep several quarts of the delicious chicken stock in my freezer. It works so well in a broth based soup like this chicken, mushroom and bok choy one. Thank you!

  12. This sounds amazing, Karen! I love soup any time of the year but especially when it starts getting chilly out. I’ve had a soup similar to this one but never with chicken so I’m really excited to try this. It looks delicious! Thanks so much for the recipe, CoCo

  13. I think you and I are very similar in our cooking styles. I love making chicken stock from the carcass of a rotisserie chicken. I make a similar soup with wontons but I like your idea of putting leftover chicken into the soup.

    1. Hi Frank, welcome back to the blog world. Yes, you can always count on me sharing a good recipe with my friends…that is when I’m not sharing a beautiful spot in the world that I think they might enjoy seeing. 😊

  14. We love homemade stock, I generally keep a ziplock bag in the freezer, accumulating until I have 4, then I make stock. I also use vegetable trimmings to flavour the stock. I love all the ingredients in this beautiful soup, and it’s perfect timing for the chillier weather.

    1. Hi Eva, I do think the Asian soup using some of your homemade stock would be perfect for your cold Canadian weather. Thank you for your compliment.

  15. I’ve always made chicken stock using the bones after cutting up the raw chicken- I wonder if it makes a difference using cooked bones instead (probably not)! Your soup has all my favorite ingredients- I could use some soup now, waiting for the election returns to come in!

    1. Hi Fran, I do think that using bones that have been roasted adds to the overall flavor of stock. Do give it a try sometime, I would love to know what you think. Thank you for your compliment on the Asian chicken soup.

    1. Hi Julie, I hope Andrew approves of my Asian chicken, mushroom and bok choy soup…I know he is a good cook, your photo of his Vietnamese beef looked like it was going to end up being a fine meal.

  16. I’ve always done broth from roast chickens, though I lost my source of organic free range chickens over a year ago. So happy my organic apple farmer just contacted me and said he had raised chickens for his wife and had extras. Doing my happy dance now! You are so right about not wasting a carcass!

    Your soup looks great–have to add it to my “shake up the soup repertoire” list this winter!

    1. You made me laugh about your shake up the soup repertoire Inger, we do sometimes get in a rut with our cooking. Thank you for your nice compliment.

    1. Hi Laura, thank you for taking the time and effort trying to leave a comment. They both came through successful although the second does link back to Hummingbird Thyme so I knew exactly who you were. I’m glad you like the Asian soup and again really thank you for your effort to comment.

    1. Thank you Dana for your nice compliment. With the cool weather in Ireland, now really is a good time to have some homemade broth ready for soups.

  17. Karen… Well, now it is my turn to have issues commenting. I just discovered that my comments haven’t been going through. I have been using my iPad – and that seems to be the problem (at least if this one goes through…) I am now on my desktop and came by to follow up on my earlier comment that I intended to make this for dinner last evening. And we did. I did skip the garlic but the shiitakes give it such a wonderful earthy and – yes – garlicky flavor. And I used some succulent leftover turkey and the turkey broth I made from the carcass. We loved it and it was made with all locally sourced main ingredients: turkey, shiitakes, and bok choy all from the farmers market, Just lovely. I will check back to see if this comment makes it through, and now off to all the others for which my comments went missing! Grrr… I will never understand technology.

    1. Hi David, After reading your comments about you having a problem with your comments not going through, I checked my spam file but nothing was there. When I was having so many problems with the same thing, I wrote an email to Akismet saying that it seemed like my comments were just disappearing into thin air and they were able to fix things. Having said that, I’m starting to have problems once again on certain blogs. Sorry for all the aggravation but I do appreciate you letting me know. Thank you as well for taking the time to let me know that you enjoyed the soup recipe. I bet it was delicious made with turkey and locally sourced ingredients. 😘

Leave a comment